Display Mode:

    Main content

    Health Information

    Classification of Juvenile Arthritis

    Classification of Juvenile Arthritis

    Skip to the navigation

    Topic Overview

    Previously there were two traditional classifications of juvenile arthritis: the European classification of juvenile chronic arthritis (JCA) and the American classification of juvenile rheumatoid arthritis (JRA). Because these classifications broke down into different categories, European and American research findings and treatment recommendations were hard to use interchangeably.

    In an effort to improve research and treatment, the International League Against Rheumatism has devised a unifying set of international criteria, using the term "juvenile idiopathic arthritis" (JIA). The word "idiopathic" means "of unknown cause." First proposed in 1995 and later revised in 1997, this classification is now used by most researchers and health professionals.

    The table below summarizes the three classification systems.

    Classification systems for juvenile arthritis
    Organization Classification Length of illness before diagnosis
    International League Against Rheumatism Juvenile idiopathic arthritis (JIA)
    Systemic JIA
    Polyarticular JIA, RF-positive
    Polyarticular JIA, RF-negative
    Oligoarticular JIA
    • Persistent (1 to 4 joints)
    • Extended (eventually affecting 5 or more joints)
    Psoriatic arthritis
    Enthesis-related arthritis
    Other arthritis (also called undifferentiated or unclassified arthritis)
    6 weeks
    American College of Rheumatology Juvenile rheumatoid arthritis (JRA)
    Systemic JRA
    Polyarticular JRA (5 or more joints)
    Oligoarticular JRA (1 to 4 joints)

    JRA does not include similar types of childhood arthritis (juvenile ankylosing spondylitis, juvenile psoriatic arthritis).

    6 weeks
    European League Against Rheumatism Juvenile chronic arthritis (JCA)
    Systemic JCA
    Polyarticular JCA (5 or more joints, RF-negative)
    Juvenile rheumatoid arthritis (5 or more joints, RF-positive)
    Oligoarticular JCA (1 to 4 joints)
    Juvenile psoriatic arthritis
    Juvenile ankylosing spondylitis
    3 months

    Regardless of the classification, children who develop symptoms before reaching 16 years of age are considered to have juvenile arthritis.

    Related Information


    ByHealthwise Staff
    Primary Medical Reviewer Susan C. Kim, MD - Pediatrics
    Specialist Medical Reviewer John Pope, MD - Pediatrics

    Current as ofSeptember 9, 2014

    Current as of: September 9, 2014

    This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise, Incorporated disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information. Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. How this information was developed to help you make better health decisions.

    © 1995-2014 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.