Display Mode:

    Main content

    Health Information

    Stages of Endometriosis

    Stages of Endometriosis

    Skip to the navigation

    Topic Overview

    Staging is a way of describing how mild or severe a condition is. The stage of the endometriosis is determined by looking at the uterus , fallopian tubes , and ovaries and inside the abdomen and lower pelvic area. Usually, this is done with a viewing instrument inserted through a small incision in the belly ( laparoscopy ). But endometriosis is sometimes first found during surgery for an unrelated condition.

    Endometriosis is classified in four stages:

    • Stage I: minimal
    • Stage II: mild
    • Stage III: moderate
    • Stage IV: severe

    The stage of the endometriosis is based on the:

    • Location of endometriosis growths (implants).
    • Number of places the implants are found.
    • Depth the implants penetrate into normal tissue.
    • Severity of the scar tissue (adhesions) around the implants.

    Related Information


    ByHealthwise Staff
    Primary Medical Reviewer Sarah Marshall, MD - Family Medicine
    Martin J. Gabica, MD - Family Medicine
    Specialist Medical Reviewer Kevin C. Kiley, MD - Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Current as ofOctober 13, 2016

    This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise, Incorporated, disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information. Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. Learn how we develop our content.

    © 1995-2017 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.